Logo Northern Lit Awards Final

Download the 2018 Northern Lit book plate


Northern libraries recognizing Northern authors

The Northern Lit Awards recognize the outstanding contribution Northern Ontario authors make to Northern culture.


The Author

Authors must currently reside – or have spent a significant amount of time residing – in Northern Ontario (north of Muskoka, to the Manitoba and Quebec borders).


The Book

  • must have been published within the last two years
  • must not have appeared on last year’s shortlist
  • must be a work of either fiction (English or French), including short stories or novellas, or nonfiction (excluding academic textbooks)
  • must be professionally published and reflect professional editing standards
  • must not be a work of poetry
  • must not be a work for children or teens/YA


The Submission Process
Submission forms for the 2019 Awards will be available in February 2019.
Submissions must include five copies of each title.

Northern Lit Awards Shortlist titles on OverDrive: https://odmc.overdrive.com/


Northern Lit Awards - Past Winners 

© 2016 Ontario Library Service - North. All Rights Reserved.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.